Our Governors are a hard working group, who give their time voluntarily to ensure our school delivers the best it can for your children.

The Role Of Governors.

The Governing Board works with the Headteacher to promote school improvement. They play an important part in the leadership of the school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. Grange Community Nursery and Primary School is a maintained school and the Governing Board’s responsibility is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of education achievement at the school’. Governors must work effectively with leaders to communicate the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school and develop a culture of ambition. A Governing board should have strength in depth, with different governors bring different areas of expertise.

Our Current Governing Body

Governor Name

Governor Role

Mrs A Williams

Executive Head

Miss S Albiston

Head of School

Miss S Rutter


Ms J McGough


Ms C Ode-Crimes


Mrs H Berry

Chair / Safeguarding

Mr N Carr

Co-opted Governor

Mr M Hitchen

Co-opted Governor

Mrs A Rimmer

Co-opted Governor

Mr C Terry

Co-opted Governor

Mrs M Hulse

Co-opted Governor

 Governor List 2019-20

Governor NamePecuninary InterestsGovernor RolesMeetings Attended
Irene HodkinsonNoneChair of GovernorsInvited:      4

Attended:   2

Hilary BerryTrustee of another Trust.Vice ChairInvited:      4

Attended:   4

Michael FieldTrustee of Weaver Trust.Co-opted GovernorInvited:      4

Attended:   4

Sam RutterNoneStaff Governor- Assistant HeadteacherInvited:      4

Attended:   4

Sara AlbistonNoneHead of SchoolInvited:      4

Attended:   4

Sue KnightNoneClerkInvited:      1

Attended:   1

Steve EntwistleNoneParent GovernorInvited:      4

Attended:   1

Vicki WalkerNoneParent GovernorInvited:      4

Attended:   2

Contact with the Governing Board can be made through the school office, or direct with the Chair Of Governors:

Local Governing Body Constitution 2017 – 2018